skip to main content

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

The ELPAC will be the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). The CELDT is the current required state test for English language proficiency that must be given to students whose primary language is other than English.

State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of English language proficiency (ELP) to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) is transitioning from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state ELP assessment by 2018. The ELPAC will be aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It will be comprised of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

The links and information below were developed for educators and others who are directly involved with the ELPAC.

ELPAC Updates

Visit the ELPAC Web page External link opens in new window or tab., which will serve as a portal for general information, manuals, instructions, training, videos, calendar, event opportunities information, and announcements as they become available.

Transition to the ELPAC Information

Comparison Chart – This chart compares the current CELDT to its successor, ELPAC, as the state ELP assessment in 2018.

La comparación entre los exámenes CELDT y ELPAC – Este documento compara el CELDT con el ELPAC.

Transition Timeline – This timeline shows the transition from the CELDT to the ELPAC from 2015–16 to 2018–19.

Línea de tiempo – Esta propuesta para la transición del examen CELDT a los exámenes ELPAC – Esta línea de tiempo muestra la transición del examen CELDT a los exámenes ELPAC desde el año escolar 2015–16 hasta el año escolar 2018–19.

ELPAC Blueprints

The task types (PDF) in the ELPAC blueprints (PDF) are designed to be aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards which were developed to correspond to the 2010 California Common Core State Standards. The task types and blueprints were approved and adopted by the State Board of Education on November 4, 2015.

Education Code

The administration of an ELP assessment is required by law. The current state test is the CELDT.

English Language Development Standards

General Performance Level Descriptors (PLDs)

On January 13, 2016, the State Board of Education (SBE) approved the General Performance Level Descriptors which will be used to guide the development of domain and grade/grade span-specific PLDs in summer 2016. General PLDs (sometimes called policy definitions) provide generic descriptions of student performance level expectations, and are used to guide the development of the specific PLDs.